Do I have the right to work in the UK?

UK, Swiss and Selected EEA Nationals (20 countries)

If you are a citizen of the United Kingdom, Switzerland or one of the following European Economic Area (EEA) countries, you have the right to work in the UK:
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

What if I don't yet have the right to work in the UK?

You can find detailed information about the PBS and the UK's other immigration categories on the Home Office's website. You may find the following sections of their web pages helpful:
  • Working in the UK This section provides detailed guidance on the different immigration categories available to foreign nationals. It is important that you read the eligibility requirements for your chosen category before you make an application.
  • Partners and other family members Here you will find information on how members of your family may be able to come to or remain in the UK if you are granted permission to work here.